RE-COLLECTING

16/12/2010 09:50

 Best I write from first person point of view. 

I have always thought that it was me that named the WHITE ROSE TRADING COMPANY but only yesterday I found a site about Tony's father and it turns out that the first cafe he owned in Australia was in Cootamundra and was called THE WHITE ROSE. Seems probable then, that Tony named it. Perhaps if was the TRADING COMPANY part that I went for.  Reminiscent of EAST INDIA. 

https://www.syndesmos.net/index.php?id=253

 

THE WHITE ROSE IN COOTAMUNDRA. 

 

The sign was painted by Brian Keyes, who still lives way out the end of the Kalang Valley. He did the Southerly wall of shops i a cdeep brown with a huge white rose on it. I don't know of any existent photos but would surely like to find some. 

Our WHITE ROSE did not look like this. We did have lolly jars and takeaways. And we painted it in bright colours appropriate to the early 1970s.